Our Staff


Jim Hershberger is the Program Coordinator for the Harrisonburg Refugee Resettlement Office. Jim worked as a sponsorship developer in the office in the last century and after a year of service in Nicaragua with Mennonite Central Committee and serving a local church as pastor for nine years he is happy to be back in the office serving refugees. He speaks Spanish and English and enjoys reading history, cooking, studying languages, raising organic beef and relaxing with his wonderful wife and children.
jhershberger@cwsglobal.org

Viktor Sokolyuk is the Director of Immigration Virginia for Church World Service overseeing the Virginia Program. Viktor is originally from Ukraine and speaks Ukrainian, Russian, and English.
vsokolyuk@cwsglobal.org

Nadezhda Mazur is the Refugee Program Coordinator. She grew up in Ukraine and speaks Russian, Ukrainian, and English. In her free time she enjoys traveling, gardening, cooking, cross-stitching and spending time with family & friends.
nmazur@cwsglobal.org

Riem Al Karawi is one of our caseworkers and speaks Arabic and English. Riem works to ensure that all core services are completed.
Ralkarawi@cwsglobal.org

David Mutombo is one of our caseworkers. He speaks Swahili, French, and English. David works to ensure that all core services are completed.
Dmutombo@cwsglobal.org

Lucia Canizares is the Employment Specialist. She  speaks Spanish, English, and French and works with clients to help them become employed.
lcanizares@cwsglobal.org

Rebecca Sprague is the Community Program Coordinator for CWS Harrisonburg. She provides intensive case management and works to build groups that strengthen refugees’ community support.
rsprague@cwsglobal.org

Megan Matteson is the Health Liaison for CWS Harrisonburg. She helps connect newly arrived refugees with health care providers and provides an orientation to the health care system in the United States.
mmatteson@cwsglobal.org

Sarah Alice Coleman is the School Liaison & ELT Coordinator. She helps connect children and adults to educational opportunities and coordinates volunteers. She has an MSW from Virginia Commonwealth University.                                                                             .
sacoleman@cwsglobal.org

Maurice Naranjo Gomez is the manager for the Cuban Haitian Entrant Program (CHEP) and is a BIA accredited immigration counselor. He managers all operations of the CHEP program and collaborated with the immigration director to offer legal advice for immigration cases. He speaks Spanish and English and is original from Cuba.
mnaranjo@cwsglobal.org

Yaisel Perez and Francisco Macahdo work with Maurice to implement the CHEP program. Yaisel speak English, Spanish, and French, and is originally from Cuba. Francisco speaks English and Spanish and is original from Honduras.
YaiselP@cwsglobal.org; fmachado@cwsglobal.org

Church World Service is a faith-based organization transforming communities around the globe through just and sustainable responses to hunger, poverty, displacement and disaster.

Church World Service, Inc., is tax-exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code.

ACT Alliance InterAction ICVA BBB Accredited Charity Charity Navigator

Church World Service • 1.800.297.1516 • info@cwsglobal.orgPrivacy