Our Staff


Susannah Lepley is the CWS Virginia director, based in Harrisonburg. She manages all the daily operations of our Harrisonburg office. Susannah grew up in Brazil and speaks Portuguese and Spanish.
slepley@cwsglobal.org

Nadezhda Mazur is the Refugee Program Coordinator. She grew up in Ukraine and speaks Russian, Ukrainian, and English. In her free time she enjoys traveling, gardening, cooking, cross-stitching and spending time with family & friends.
nmazur@cwsglobal.org

Lucia Canizares is the Immigration Counselor, accredited by the Department of Justice to practice immigration law. She speaks Spanish, English, and French and works to assist clients with applications for legal services such as citizenship, green card applications, and family reunifications.
lcanizares@cwsglobal.org

Rebecca Sprague is the Community Program Coordinator for CWS Harrisonburg. She provides intensive case management and works to build groups that strengthen refugees’ community support.
rsprague@cwsglobal.org

Anitha Nyirandatwa is the Refugee Health and Outreach (RHEO)/Medical Liaison Caseworker. She provides health education to refugee-eligible populations, helps newcomers navigate the United States healthcare system, and helps with access to health and mental health services. She enjoys reading and listening to music in her free time.
anyirandatwa@cwsglobal.org

Sarah Alice Coleman is the School Liaison & ELT Coordinator. She helps connect children and adults to educational opportunities and coordinates volunteers. She has an MSW from Virginia Commonwealth University.                                                                             .
sacoleman@cwsglobal.org

Ameera Haydar is the Preferred Community Coordinator. She helps vulnerable refugees achieve self-sufficiency. She speaks Arabic, Kurdish Kurmanjee, and English, and she is practicing Turkish and Spanish. She loves to garden and keeps chicken and sheep.
ahaydar@cwsglobal.org

Hubert Doughty is the Accounting Assistant. He is in charge of processing all financial transactions, managing supplies, and monitoring activities. He enjoys spending time with his grandson and is active in UMC.
hdoughty@cwsglobal.org

Jonitka Hall is the Campus Compact AmeriCorps VISTA: Coordinator of Financial Literacy and Job Readiness. She organizes newcomers’ cultural orientation, co-organizes volunteers, and builds capacity for our office. Her current passion project is assisting women to become business owners and certified at-home childcare providers for our working parents. Jonitka is a proud Returned Peace Corps Volunteer. She enjoys exercising, exploring Harrisonburg, and spending time with her 8 godchildren.
jhall@cwsglobal.org

Emily Bender is the Development and Communications Coordinator. She coordinates fundraising, events, and community outreach and engagement to promote refugee resettlement services. She has an MA in International Migration from the University of Kent Brussels School of International Studies and enjoys hiking and biking with her family in the Shenandoah Valley. ebender@cwsglobal.org

Church World Service is a faith-based organization transforming communities around the globe through just and sustainable responses to hunger, poverty, displacement and disaster.

Church World Service, Inc., is tax-exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code.

ACT Alliance InterAction ICVA BBB Accredited Charity Charity Navigator

Church World Service • 1.800.297.1516 • info@cwsglobal.orgPrivacy