Our Staff


Nadezhda Mazur is the Refugee Program Coordinator. She grew up in Ukraine and speaks Russian, Ukrainian, and English. In her free time she enjoys traveling, gardening, cooking, cross-stitching and spending time with family & friends.
nmazur@cwsglobal.org

Arsalan Syan is our Arabic/Kurdish speaking caseworker. Our caseworkers work together to ensure that all new arrivals have housing, find jobs and find a safe place in our community.
Asyan@cwsglobal.org

David Mutombo is our French/Swahili speaking caseworker. Our caseworkers work together to ensure that all core services are completed for new arrivals.
Dmutombo@cwsglobal.org

Lucia Canizares is our Immigration Counselor, accredited by the Department of Justice to practice immigration law. She speaks Spanish, English, and French and works to assist clients with applications for legal services such as citizenship, green card applications, and family reunifications.
lcanizares@cwsglobal.org

Rebecca Sprague is the Community Program Coordinator for CWS Harrisonburg. She provides intensive case management and works to build groups that strengthen refugees’ community support.
rsprague@cwsglobal.org

Frey Assefa is the Health Liaison for CWS Harrisonburg. She helps connect newly arrived refugees with health care providers and provides an orientation to the health care system in the United States.
fassefa@cwsglobal.org

Sarah Alice Coleman is the School Liaison & ELT Coordinator. She helps connect children and adults to educational opportunities and coordinates volunteers. She has an MSW from Virginia Commonwealth University.                                                                             .
sacoleman@cwsglobal.org

 

Church World Service is a faith-based organization transforming communities around the globe through just and sustainable responses to hunger, poverty, displacement and disaster.

Church World Service, Inc., is tax-exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code.

ACT Alliance InterAction ICVA BBB Accredited Charity Charity Navigator

Church World Service • 1.800.297.1516 • info@cwsglobal.orgPrivacy